It is our duty to detail our control and production processes to the best of our ability so that you can make an informed decision about purchasing and enjoying Swapples.
The Swapples that you are ordering were baked before we moved to a certified-gluten free facility. Therefore, they could not be certified gluten-free. However, this does not mean that they contain gluten. We are making this statement so that you are aware that they are not certified by any third-party organization.
The Swapples being shipped for our online store were produced in a shared facility with multiple businesses operating under the same roof. Some of these businesses did use gluten, dairy, egg, tree nuts, peanuts, shellfish, fish and soy. We bordered an aisle on two sides (empty space), a juice and nut milk company on the third side, and a sandwich/salad company on the fourth side. There were several precautions we took to prevent cross contamination.
- Our production area was our own; nobody was allowed to produce anything but Swapples in our area.
- Our ingredients were all purchased from new, shipped in clean, fresh containers, and sealed air-tight.
- We purchased all of our own equipment from new; it was never used to make anything but the ingredients used in our five flavors of Swapples. The exception was the dishwashing area, which was used by all community members. However, our employees were instructed to wash out the sink area with hot water and sanitizer before cleaning our equipment there.
- Employees were obligated to change gloves every time their hands came into contact with a different container, food item, or other object that was not being used to produce Swapples.
- Employees took lunch in a separate room and were obligated to wash their hands and put on fresh gloves prior to resuming work.
- No other food/ingredients were permitted or stored in our area.
Purchasing in store?
We recently transitioned to a certified gluten-free facility! If you see our new boxes with the certified gluten-free logo on the front, this means that that box was produced in this new facility. NOTE: This facility does process gluten, dairy, egg, tree nuts, peanuts, shellfish, fish and soy. While that might seem confusing, the facility is certified gluten-free, as are Swapples, because they frequently undergo routine third-party audits to verify their allergen management. In addition to this, we take several precautions to prevent cross-contamination.
- The equipment that our waffles are baked on was purchased from new, and has never come into contact with any ingredient other than the ingredients used to make our five flavors of Swapples.
- Swapples are produced in a separate room that is dedicated to gluten-free production ONLY. The area is walled off from all other parts of the facility.
- After each production run, the entire room is hosed down to remove any food remains.
- All gluten-free ingredients are sealed and have a different storage area than gluten-containing ingredients.
- All shared supplies are washed then sanitized at high temperatures to remove all food particles, then inspected.